This website collects and stores your anonymized IP address (see Privacy policy) and uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site, you accept our use of cookies.

Regions in Suriname

Suriname is made up of 10 primary administrative regions. Have a closer look at the regions in Suriname. Information on all primary administrative regions in Suriname.

Please click on a region name for more information on this region.

You can sort the regions in Suriname alphabeticallyby population by capitals of the regionsby capitals population

Primary administrative regions in Suriname

There are 10 regions in Suriname in the primary administrative level.
Primary administrative regions in Suriname
RegionNoPopulationCapitalCapital population
Brokopondo Distrikt Brokopondo1.14,549Brokopondo Brokopondo14,662
Commewijne Distrikt Commewijne2.24,767Nieuw Amsterdam Nieuw Amsterdam4,935
Coronie Distrikt Coronie3.2,883Totness Totness1,685
Marowijne Distrikt Marowijne4.16,634Albina Albina3,985
Nickerie Distrikt Nickerie5.36,708Nieuw Nickerie Nieuw Nickerie13,143
Para Distrikt Para6.18,994Onverwacht Onverwacht2,105
Paramaribo Distrikt Paramaribo7.242,946Paramaribo Paramaribo223,757
Saramacca Distrikt Saramacca8.16,171Groningen Groningen3,216
Sipaliwini Distrikt Sipaliwini9.34,524--
Wanica Distrikt Wanica10.86,814Lelydorp Lelydorp18,223